Building Administrator
Steve Haley

Email Mr. Haley

School Information
1529 Calhoun St.
Chillicothe, MO 64601
660-646-1916 (phone)
660-646-( fax)

Parent Portal Link

Email Link


Building Recognition

CMS 8th Grade Science Fair Results

Eighth grade students at Chillicothe Middle School recently presented their science fair projects
to judges. Students brainstormed and researched their topics and created a plan for their
experiment which they then carried out. The results were presented in a tri fold display and a paper.
Topics ranged from the antibacterial effects of honey and other substances, to researching political
views of different ages and gender, poison identification, inheritance of body shape, the effects of
trees on corn yields and weaning age of goats.

The top projects were selected after two rounds of interviews. The students were recognized during a school assembly recently. The top three overall students were awarded medals. In addition, students
earning top honors in their own category received ribbons and certificates.


The overall winners pictured from left to right (back) 1. Erek Brose, 2. Rylee Miller and Jessica Brade, 3. Walker Graves, 4. McKenna Poling, 5. Mykel Heese and Gracie Ellis
(front) 6. Claire Shipp, 7. Elena and Isaiah Boon, 8 Emilee Haley, 9. Katelyn Clariday,
10. Maddie Graham

Other students mentioned for honorable mention included: Ruthie Vinson, Libby Cox,
Brett Shaffer and Trace Staton, Jensen Simmer and Brynlee Faulkner

The winners in each category are as follows:

Health and Medicine:
1. Mykel Heese and Gracie Ellis
2. Walker Graves
3. Harlie Jones and Hayden Montgomery
4. Payge Hartman and Lexie Dickerson
5. Molly Jones

1. Maddie Graham
2. Gunnar Young and Aidri Carden

1. Elena and Isaiah Boon
2. Emilee Haley
3. Ben Hayen

1. Rylee Miller and Jessica Brade
2. McKenna Poling
3. Eric Brose

1. Katelyn Clariday

1. Ridge Howe and Anthony Aragon
2. Konner Sewell
3. Eric Davis
4. Jack Willard

1. Claire Shipp
2. Madi Spath and Cameron Moore
3. Lauren Gregory and Kirsten Moore

All students recognized will be eligible to compete at the 2014 Eagles International Science and Engineering Fiar (ISEF) and Missouri Junior Academy of Science (MJAS) regional competitions. The two competitions will be held at Central Methodist University in Fayette, Missouri, on Thursday, March 6, 2014. Top projects will be eligible to compete at the state level. Past CMS winners at the Missouri Junior Academy of Science state contest include the following students:
Tyler Dietzschold 2005 and Lauren Haley 2011 KIRKPATRICK JUNIOR EAGLE AWARDS (top junior high award); Trey Bayte 2012 THE ALLHOFF MEMORIAL AWARD (top earth science paper); Emma Leamer 2013 AMY AND BETH LAWSON MICROBIOLOGY AWARD.



CMS Students Donated More Than 1,000 boxes of crayons and markers to
Children's Mercy Hospital

Crayon Donation to Children's Mercy Hospital by CMS Students


Mrs. Christine Jones' Trip to Greensburg, Kansas

Mrs. Jones' students, Shelley Rucker, Chantel Perez, and Erica Brade wrote this article about their trip to Greensburg.

Missouri Junior Academy of Sciences on Friday April 16, 2010
Missouri State University in Springfield, MO.

scienceaward1Chemistry Divison - Caleb Stull took 1st place in the state with his project "The Effect of Caffine on the heart rate of a Daphnia"
 Environmental Divison - Quinten Lewis took 1st place in the state with his project "Fueling the Future"
 Engineering/Physics Division - Jacob McCullough took 1st place in the state with his project "The Effect of Water Salinity on Magneto Hydrodynamic Propulsion"
scienceaward2Medicine & Health/Microbiology Division - Lauren Haley took 2nd place in the state with her project  "The Effect of Administration Method of Moxidectin on Barber Pole Worm Levels in Goats"
Caleb Stull & Jacob McCullough did advance to the finals along with 3 other students from other Missouri middle schools.
Jacob McCullough received The Paul Schamburg Memorial Award for the best testing apparatus built by a middle level student.
We are very proud of these students and their evidence of scientific excellence!!  GREAT JOB Caleb, Quinten, Jacob and Lauren!!!

Award Winning Teachers and Staff!
Photo by BK Web Works, 05 22 07

On May 22, 2007, CMS staff, administrators, and two members of the Chillicothe Education Foundation were treated to a recognition dinner at Pin Oak Hill honoring Nancy Elliott and John DeBey, two middle school teachers who received national awards during the past year.Award Photo

Nancy was recognized as one of 20 teachers as the "USA Today Teacher of the Year" and John as one of 43 across the country to receive the National Technology Educator's Association Outstanding Educator award. The majority of the costs of the dinner were paid by Nancy Elliott with the balance covered by the Chillicothe Education Foundation. Bryan Prewitt, Middle School Principal, thanked everyone who attended and presented a special thank you to Assistant Middle School Principal, Steve Haley; Mary Lou Wilhoit, CMS Secretary who coordinated the event; the Education Foundation; John DeBey on his award; and Nancy Elliott for her award and for sharing her winnings with the entire staff.

Pictured left to right are Mary Lou Wilhoit, CMS Secretary; Dale Wallace, Supt. of R-2 Schools; Steve Haley, CMS Asst. Principal; Bryan Prewitt, CMS Principal; Ed Douglas, Chair of the CEF; Nancy Elliott, award winning CMS teacher; and John DeBey, award winning CMS teacher. Photo taken by Brenda Fellhoelter, who also attended as a CEF representative.

Chillicothe Middle School Teacher Earns National Award
C-T Article, Thursday, November 2, 2006

One local Chillicothe Middle School teacher can add another award to her list of achievements after being named to the USA TODAY All-USA Teacher Team. Nancy Elliott, alternative school teacher at CMS, received the honor with 20 other teachers from across the United States.

USA TODAY's All-USA Teacher Team honors individuals and instructional teams throughout the country. Team members will receive trophies and share $2,000 with their school with teacher receiving $500. Each teacher was also honored in the USA TODAY newspaper as representatives of outstanding teachers.

“It is quite an honor to be recognized nationally for the things that you are doing and you enjoy doing,” Elliott said, adding that she will probably use her winnings to help support the “Taking Another Path” alternative school program at Chillicothe Middle School.

The All-USA Teacher Team was selected by a panel of judges from nominees across the country. Teachers could be nominated by school administrators, students (past or present), students' parents, colleagues or family members. Teachers were then asked to describe their school and students' needs and how they go about meeting those needs. “We are pleased to honor these remarkable teachers who enhance eduction with initiative, enthusiasm and insight,” said USA TODAY Editor Ken Paulson. “They make a real difference for their students, schools and communities.”

Elliott, who has been teaching for 20 years, was nominated by her colleague, Ellen Gott, who is also an instructor for the CMS alternative school. “She is a great teacher and works very hard,” Gott said, explaining why she nominated her fellow teacher. “She's very dedicated and deserves some recognition.”